Who’s got big cajones?

I’ve been told by several people that I am a confident person;  almost to the point of being cocky.  I would have to agree with that assessment. 

When I got an IM from a colleague stating that he was going to send an email Steve Ballmer because he was so pumped up about our service SharePoint Online, I will admit that I had some reservations about that.  He’s young, excited and perhaps a little too "confident".  Didn’t matter.  Letter was out of the gate.  Here is what it said:

Steve,

Hello My name is XXXXXX, I am an engineer for the SharePoint Online dedicated service.  We deploy, run and maintain SharePoint for our external customers such as <removed JUST IN CASE> among others, additionally we run the internal properties, some of which you know as http://msw , http://my and http://sharepoint .    I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know how passionate and pumped we are about the official launch of SharePoint online to the world Monday.  Every time we hear or see an instance where senior management is publicly speaking about SharePoint online or SharePoint in general it fires us up.  It amazes me each day how much talent we have behind SharePoint and the services platforms, exciting times are ahead for sure.  To keep it short and sweet, we are very excited here in building 11 for the future of software + services, SharePoint and future customers as we improve and expand this awesome product and service.  Keep up the good work up there in the public eye and well do the same down here in the trenches. 

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

 

A very nice, uplifting email from someone who is obviously excited about what he is doing.  The email was entirely correct about the team being fired up about what we are doing in our group.  Sometimes being fired up gets us to do some things that might be considered "rash".  Not to say that this was rash, but if you are worried *after* you send the email, perhaps you should have thought about it longer.  When he told me that he had done it–I was proud of him.  He’s got guts.  Like I said, we are fired up about it but then again…how many employees would take the step to send Steve Ballmer an email saying, "I love my job".  I would be afraid of getting a reply like, "If you love your job, then do it and stop sending me email".

 

How many times have we heard from our respective employers "Take risks".  My friend took one and his gamble paid off.  He actually got a response that was something other than "Good luck in your future endeavors."   I’ve spoken to Mr Ballmer before (pissed him off in the process, but hey..), but that was before I joined Microsoft.  I have to say "RESPECT" to my colleague. Even if it was "youthful exuberance",  that took some guts to do.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Life

Leave a Reply

