What happens when you get two geeks in a room at Microsoft.

So me and my office mate Bill Baer were talking about his trip to Shell Oil in the Netherlands.  He will be flying First Class and how the seats recline to *almost* 180 degrees.

Bill: I wonder how close to 180 it gets.  Maybe I should bring my protractor.

Me: LOL!  Wait…We could figure it out.  Use trig.

Bill: hmmm

Me: Let’s see…<I start drawing on the whiteboard>  If we measure the length of the back of the seat from the top to the floor and then measure the total length of the seat….

Bill:  ahhhh.  And use the X^2 + Y^2 thing?

Me: well…we will already know the lengths (sides) so what we want to know is the angle, so the sine of theta (the angle we want to know) would be the length of the opposite side divided by the hypotenuse of the triangle it makes.  Or even better, the tangent of the angle would be the length of the opposite side divided by the length of the seat.

Bill: nice.  Let me get my ruler.  <He prints out a ruler>

 

People at Microsoft aren’t just computer saavy…they’re just SMART.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What happens when you get two geeks in a room at Microsoft.

  1. Cindy

    I can come up with a page of better things to ponder or do on a holiday….

  2. Richard

    oh yeah??  Better than using trig to figure out the questions of every day life?  HA!  What could be better than that?!

  3. Cindy

    S E X.i could add to that list, but I think you get the gist

Leave a Reply

