Thinking forward to 2007

I’m not one to make New Year’s Resolutions; I believe we need to constantly set goals and change ourselves from within all throughout our lives.  That dogma nothwithstanding, there *are* a few things I would like to see happen in my life this coming year:
 
a) Hit 190 lbs.  I went on a health kick in 2006 and it has yielded beautiful fruit.  I would like to put myself into 2nd gear and hit 190 lbs with a BMI (body mass index) of 13%.
 
b) Buy a new laptop.  The one I have currently is a HOSS (RAID controller; 4GB RAM, 17 inch screen…) but I need something that weighs less than 10 lbs (!)
 
c) Be nicer.   This is one of those internal changes that will require effort each and every day for the rest of my life and probably can’t be measured except externally.  By "nicer" I mean *less* mean, *less* sarcastic, *less* condescending, etc  Yell less, speak softer more.
 
d) Be smarter.  Another of those almost intangibles.  I’m not necessarily talking about getting an advanced degree (no time) but I could read a good book or two (or three).  I’ve decided to read one fiction, one non-fiction, and one political (right-leaning of course).
 
e) The last (but no means least): Be more spiritual.  Let the reader decide what I mean by that.
 
5 goals, 365 days.  IT’S ON!!
 
 
9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

9 responses to “Thinking forward to 2007

  1. Arthur

    This is a cool space.  I hope you don\’t mind a stranger adding comments.   I see your goals are in mind and it seems you have a clear vision.  Have you ever read the "Slight Edge" by Jeff Olson.   Cool book that explores why only a few people ever seem to succeed with their goals while 95 percent give up in just a short time.   You sound like one of the 5 percent that hangs in there and reaches your goals.    Again cool space and interesting content.   
     
     

  2. Unknown

    This is nice.  Goodluck 

  3. Jane

    I like your space very much 🙂

  4. Wilder

    i like your space

  5. Theresa

    I wish you the best of luck with your resolutions.  Nice space…and congrats on being chosen as one of MSNs best!  😉

  6. Sine

    ur goals are pretty much like mine except that i\’ve already done the second (of urs).
     
    PS. i cant think of what u mean by saying \’be more spiritual\’

  7. David

    Reading won\’t make you smarter (especially reading politcal works that agree with you), but it can make you more knowledgeable, and possibly even a bit wiser.  The more different viewpoints you think about, the deeper your understanding of why things proceed the way they do (and not as they should).

  8. Richard

    DavidShag, now I\’m curious.  What\’s the difference between being smart and being knowledegable.  And then the difference between smart and wise?  If reading makes you more knowledgeable (but not smarter), and perhaps wiser (as you mentioned)—I guess I don\’t understand the nuances between the three.  Well,  not exactly true–I understand the difference between knowledge and wisdom.  But not necessarily "being smart" and "being knowledgeable".

  9. jen

    i pray God helps you with Ur goals, that is if u let him.

Leave a Reply

